From the last few weeks I was working on Souvenir and was little tired
of it. Wanted to explore something new. Fortunately, Sir suggested to
devote only two hours for Souvenir and rest on Felt.

To start with it I first cloned all the necessary files from Inder’s
repository. Also I had a little hint about installing it as previously
in Elementary did 30% of the installation and after that I encountered
with lot many errors and at that time just left it as I was already
busy with Souvenir. Now I am on 14.04, and I only had a very little
hint and didn’t remembered exactly. So that 30% meant nothing.

After installation the mistake that I was committing was keeping them
in /var/www which need not to be done. Now, I have changed the
location to have a smooth workflow.

Installation :

Install Dependencies :

$ sudo apt-get install flex
$ sudo apt-get install bison
$ sudo apt-get install libboost1.55-dev
$ sudo apt-get install libxt-dev
$ sudo apt-get install libxaw7-dev
$ sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dev
$ sudo apt-get install libglu1-mesa-dev
$ sudo apt-get install libglw1-mesa-dev

Installation Steps :

$ git clone https://github.com/deepakkumarsharma/felt.git
$ cd felt
$ git checkout experiment
$ cmake ./
$ make
$ sudo make install

My Struggle :

  1. After cloning I put it to /var/www folder, whenever I do
    $ git checkout experiment
    It pop-up an error message that commit changes or stash you changes. This seems wired to me as I have do this before too but not getting this type of error. I did git stash to get rid of this error message and then git checkout experiment. Viola! it moved to experiment branch :).
  2. But I’m still facing error message while applying cmake . I did this
    $ cd felt
    $ mkdir build
    $ cd build
    $ cmake ../

    When I run ” cmake ../ ” I got this

    Could NOT find flex
    CMake Error: The following variables are used in this project, but they are set to NOTFOUND.
    Solution for this is, install flex (install latest version)
    
    $ sudo apt-get install flex
    

    This was solved when I run “cmake ../” one more time I got this

    Could NOT find bison
    CMake Error: The following variables are used in this project, but they are set to NOTFOUND.
    Solution for this is, install bison
    $ sudo apt-get install bison
    

    Next error

    Could NOT find Boost
    CMake Error: The following variables are used in this project, but they are set to NOTFOUND.
    Solution for this is, install Boost
    $ sudo apt-get install libboost1.55-dev

    I still facing error :
    CMake Error: The source directory “/var/www” does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt. So I change it path and clone it again this time in home folder /home/deekay.

  3. Installation, Errors and Solutions :
    $ cd felt
    $ cmake ./
    $ make

    First Error  :

    ***[41%] compilation terminated.
    make[2]: *** [lib/Widgets/CMakeFiles/widgets.dir/Cache.c.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [lib/Widgets/CMakeFiles/widgets.dir/all] Error 2
    make: *** [all] Error 2

    Solution :

    $ sudo apt-get install libxt-dev

    Second Error :

    /home/deekay/felt/lib/Widgets/Drawing.cpp:31:30: fatal error: X11/Xaw/XawInit.h: No such file or directory
    # include <X11/Xaw/XawInit.h>
                                 ^
    compilation terminated.
    make[2]: * [lib/Widgets/CMakeFiles/widgets.dir/Drawing.cpp.o] Error 1
    make[1]: * [lib/Widgets/CMakeFiles/widgets.dir/all] Error 2

    Solution :

    $ sudo apt-get install libxaw7-dev
    

    Third Error :

    compilation terminated.
    make[2]: * [src/Velvet/CMakeFiles/velvet.dir/opengl.cpp.o] Error 1
    make[1]: * [src/Velvet/CMakeFiles/velvet.dir/all] Error 2
    make: * [all] Error 2

    Solution  :

    $ sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dev
    $ sudo apt-get install libglu1-mesa-dev

    Fourth Error :

    /home/deekay/felt/src/Velvet/opengl.cpp:43:26: fatal error: GL/GLwDrawA.h: No such file or directory
     #include <GL/GLwDrawA.h> 
                              ^
    compilation terminated.
    make[2]: *** [src/Velvet/CMakeFiles/velvet.dir/opengl.cpp.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [src/Velvet/CMakeFiles/velvet.dir/all] Error 2
    make: *** [all] Error 2

    Solution :

     $ sudo apt-get install libglw1-mesa-dev
  4. Finally run this command
    $ sudo make install
  5. Viola! FElt installed 🙂
